Villanova History Department inducts 2014 Phi Alpha Theta members

Sunday, November 9th may have seemed the same as any other around the Villanova campus, but a short jaunt away something special was occurring at the Overbrook Golf Course. That’s where the History Department celebrated the induction of new members into the Tau Phi Chapter of the national history honor society, Phi Alpha Theta. Sixteen undergraduates and one MA grad student joined the illustrious rank of scholars at this delightful brunch event (11 additional undergrads, and 2 additional MA grad students were unable to attend).

Craig Bailey, Ph.D. featured as the introduction speaker, kicking off a ceremony which included individual recognition for exceptional achievements. Caitlin Flessate was awarded the Procko Prize for best undergraduate paper, and Shane Sprandio was awarded the Carroll prize for best graduate paper. In addition, the Richard Bates Memorial Award for Outstanding Service was granted to Mary Katherine Hickey (who could not attend the event).

Photos from this tremendous event were provided by Dr. Rebecca Winer:

PAT inductees.JPG Dr. Winer with student and parents Dr. Rosier with parents


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s