[GUEST POST] Internship Experience by Jonathan Tam ’15

Every incoming college student knows of the college triangle aka the graphic of a college student’s time management. The three points of the triangle are labeled good grades, social life, and sleep and it tells you that you can only choose two. What the graphic does not tell you is that it is possible to have all three; you just need to have good time management and a plan.

            My freshman year was a big transition year for me and I figured out what I needed to do to be a successful college student. I also have the added filler of college baseball to my schedule, which helps to focus my time to where I need to spend it. I am a rising senior in the class of 2015 who is majoring in Psychology in the Liberal Arts and Sciences College.

            This summer I interned at a large-scale insurance company called ACE Group USA that specializes in insuring companies with a net worth of $1 billion or more. I spent time in the Risk Management Finance department, which looks at the expectations of every policy from every branch and looks at how the policies are doing compared to how they were projected to do.

            When I entered Villanova as a Psychology major, I was really hoping to be able to counsel and provide therapy but I would have to take way too many classes to earn that right so I have moved on. Now I have been looking at jobs in the insurance industry because it gives me the same kind of social networking without having to go to grad school to get a job. My summer internship in the Risk Management department was excellent for understanding how insurance works and how important social networking is in a workplace environment.

guestphotog

Leave a Reply

