Summer Internship Experience at Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia [Guest Post: Julia Rayder]

Below is a guest post by Julia Rayder, ’14, Economics Major.

This summer I was able to intern at Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia, working in both the International Editorial and Global Licensing departments. I’m a rising senior economics major and while I enjoy my major, I was never very interested in a career in business. The idea of working in finance or investment banking wasn’t what I pictured myself doing and I worried that my business-related major would restrict me to only certain types of internships. I began applying to various different companies in media, publishing, fashion and even a few banks. I had been nervous that I was starting the search too late, as I had just returned from studying abroad and didn’t start applying until February of my junior year.

Many of the positions I applied for I found by doing Internet searches. I simply picked out companies I thought would be interesting to work for and searched for their summer internship programs. After sending in an online application, I received an email saying I had been chosen to interview for the International Business internship position. Shortly after that, I had two very quick phone interviews and was offered the internship. Once I had been given the internship, I found that it combined many of my interests.  I’m able to work on the international editions of Martha Stewart Living magazine and also get to work in the licensing department. which deals with the various partnerships of the MSLO brand.martha

In the past few weeks, I have learned an incredible amount about branding, licensing, the editorial techniques and the challenges these areas present. It can very difficult to remain true to the Martha Stewart brand while simultaneously appeal to a very different culture such as Indonesia or Thailand. I’ve seen several potential licensing deals be proposed and then fail, which can be frustrating after putting in hours of work and creating presentations. This is just the way licensing works and I’ve learned so much about the business that I never knew before. I’ve seen the whole production of a magazine from beginning to print, which was incredible, and I’ve been able to work on several licensing deals that have been successful such as Martha Stewart vitamins that will be available in 2014.

My advice for anyone applying for an internship would be: 1) don’t limit yourself based on your major; apply to any and all internships that interest you 2) don’t worry if you aren’t sure what type of career you eventually want, the whole point of an internship is to experiment with different jobs 3) Do apply to several internships, you want to have as many options as possible even if you can’t bear writing one more cover letter 4) Don’t freak out if you feel like everyone has secured internships except for you, different fields hire interns on different schedules so there is always time to apply.

Leave a Reply

