Journalism and MediaGlobal News at the UN [Internships]

Below is our second blog post on a student internship experience. Through OUS students can learn about internship opportunities that will allow them to explore careers, acquire professional experience, and prepare for post-graduate employment. These internships are great professional development and can be used for credit.

A big thank you to Samantha Galasso for answering our questions about her summer internship! Samantha is a junior majoring in communications from Wilton, CT. This summer she earned major internship credit while working for MediaGlobal News, an independent international media organization, based in the the United Nations Headquarters in New York City. MediaGlobal News works to create awareness in the global media on social justice and development issues.

At the podium of the United Nations General Assembly

On skills learned:

Working as a journalist in the UN Headquarters was definitely intimidating at first, and I wasn’t sure that I would be able to handle such an important job. However, I believe I rose to the occasion. I learned so much about the publishing and news industry and honed my writing, researching, and interviewing skills with the help of my editor and colleagues.

On her greatest accomplishment in this internship:

It’s a tie between being able to network with many of the world leaders who base themselves in the UN Headquarters and seeing my stories on MediaGlobal’s home page.

The most challenging aspect of the internship:

Deadlines were incredibly difficult to meet, mostly because in order to complete a story we were required to have quotes on our topic from two different people. For example, I wrote a story about the indigenous peoples of Cambodia, and as it turns out, it’s not easy to get in touch with indigenous Cambodians for quotes.

After a lot of persistent emailing, though, I was able to get in touch with the head of UNESCO’s Cambodia department, who was willing to talk to me so that I could complete the piece.

On unanticipated aspects of the internship:

At my other journalism job, we are normally provided with topics to write about, but at MediaGlobal, we had to go find stories on our own. Though I wasn’t expecting it, I liked that I was given that much freedom and responsibility. It helped me understand what separates a good story from a mediocre one.

Thanks again to Samantha! If you’d like to answer questions for an OUS Blog post, please contact gina.talley@villanova.edu

Leave a Reply

